Hypertext Essay

My ambitions for the future have always revolved around the creative world of music. It is where I envision myself becoming a part of a like-minded network. Therefore, in five years, I hope to be pursuing my career goal of working within the artist and repertoire (A&R) department of a record label.

In this essay, I will build a network of organisations that may assist me with my progression towards becoming an integral part of the music industry. Establishing links between people and services is an essential objective within a business, based upon the sharing of art.

Universal Music Australia Pty Limited (2015) defines the responsibilities of an A&R as, “talent scouting and overseeing the artistic development of artists”. The title seems to perfectly balance creativity and artistic integrity, with marketing and selling records. I am currently working as an A&R scout at Australian independent record label, Liberation Music and am undertaking an internship at Mushroom Publishing. These companies work with innovative acts such as The Temper Trap and World’s End Press. My journey began when I emailed Liberation’s A&R manager, expressing my intrigue and interest in the industry. I worked for a year from home before being asked to begin a part-time position.

To continue exploring the pathways toward my career ambition, reaching out to partners of Liberation would be extremely beneficial. For example, under the Mushroom Group heading, there are two alternate record labels, I OH YOU and Ivy League. Enquiring with I OH YOU’s label manager, Johann Ponniah and Ivy Leauges director, Andy Kelly regarding scouting or basic admin, would be an effective way to branch out and learn about the inner workings of a different label.

The live aspect of music is pivotal within the industry; therefore contacting Frontier Touring would be another advantageous network to create. Attending live shows at venues such as the Northcote Social Club and listening to radio stations such as Triple R and Triple J Unearthed, also contribute towards immersing myself deeper into Melbourne’s extensive music culture. The social dimension of an A&R is imperative to acknowledge, thus merely talking ‘music’ with others acts as another step towards reaching my ambitions.

Aside from working further with Liberation and the Mushroom Group, founding my own indie record label is a project that I hope to pursue. It would take a strategic ensemble of networks to turn the idea into a reality. I would have to find new and exciting artists that would fit and compliment the vibe and style of the label. The music database Hype Machine lists new music that has been posted on a collection of blogs worldwide, including HillyDilly and Acid Stag. Music industry conferences and artists showcases is often where upcoming unsigned artists are discovered, so attending events such as BIGSOUND in Brisbane would be a valuable asset towards constructing a roster of artists. To start up my own record label, I need to put myself out there and begin networking with the organisations that support Australian music. Rather than competing, I believe working constructively with available sources is key to getting noticed and building a reputation.

I aim to continue to form networks within the industry and learn from those around me. Making friends and partnerships will provide me with direction and help me reach my creative ambition of becoming an A&R.

References:

Universal Music Australia Pty Limited, artist and repertoire, Universal, viewed 13 August 2015, < http://www.umusic.com.au/artists-and-repertoire/ >.

Leave a comment